Magnet making & MHP delivery!

10.8.17

Hi guys!  Have you ever made magnets like these?

DSC_0366

A super sweet ‘My Happy Place’ booth customer reached out to me about creating a school nook for her 3 kiddos.  We came up with a fun plan for a large magnet board to post important reminders, the school lunch calendar, etc.  So she needed cute magnets!  She has red & teal throughout her home so these are the custom magnets I created for her!  #ilovemyjob #grateful

I chose some paper from my stash in her color palette and these are the 4 she chose.  #shehasgreattaste

DSC_0350

Here’s what you need…

CSC_0413

… a glue gun, mod podge, a foam brush, & a circle punch.  That circle punch is the 1.5″ diameter size.

You also need pretty paper, magnets, & round glass pieces with a flat side.  I get my glass pieces at Michaels, but I’ve also seen them at Joanne Fabrics & Wal-Mart.

DSC_0357

First, you punch out circles from your pretty paper.  Then using the foam brush you coat the flat side of a glass piece with mod podge, and then center and place a paper circle face down on the mod podge.  Once that’s dry you add a layer of mod podge on top of the paper to seal it on.  I always do 2 coats to be safe.  It’s important to get the sides of the paper flush with the glass.  I use my fingers to press the edges & any stubborn areas flat.  #messy

Here’s what they look like after sealing them with 2 coats.

CSC_0411

Once they’re completely dry you can hot glue your magnets on.  Finally, I use a Magic Eraser to remove any bits of mod podge that may have snuck onto the glass during the messy steps.   And then you’re done!  #boom

DSC_0374

What I love most about them is that they’re one-of-a-kind.  #whichisthebestkind    I’ve made college ones, baby ones, holiday ones… I love a good magnet.  #custom #fungiftidea

I’m making another batch for the booth but if you ever want some custom ones made just for you let me know!  #takingorders #xmasiscoming   My email is myhappyplace.springhill@gmail.com.

 

 

I hope that short & sweet tutorial made sense!  If you have any questions let me know!  🙂

And speaking of the booth… I have a huge delivery scheduled for tomorrow morning!  Fall goodies mixed with classic pieces… lots of texture and good greenery happening… I love decorating this time of year!

DSC_0379DSC_0381DSC_0382DSC_0384DSC_0389DSC_0392

Thanks so much for stopping by!  Have a great week!    ♥ – Sarah

Leave a comment